Breaking News

3 ways to delete location history when using Google Maps


Tuesday, January 26, 2021 19:05 PM (GMT + 7)

When you use Google Maps, the entire location history is logged, which can then be used to provide personalized recommendations.

This feature is especially useful in some cases, allowing you to easily see past places. However, if you don’t want to be continuously tracked by Google, there are some tips below to clear your location history.

1. Turn off Location history (location history)

First, open the Google Maps app (maps) on your phone, click on the avatar in the upper right corner and select Settings – Personal content – Location history is on ( location history is on) – Location history settings.

In the new page that appears, users just need to turn off the option Location history (location history) – Pause to limit being tracked by Google.

Turn off location history storage when using Google Maps. Photo: MINH HOANG

2. Clear the location history range

If you don’t want to turn off location history completely, you can delete a few places that have been before (if you don’t want anyone to know).

To do this, go back to the Personal content – Delete Location History range (delete location history range), then select the start and end dates and click Continue. or Delete. Google will display a warning asking you if you want to delete it, all you need to do is select I understand and want to delete – Delete.

3 ways to delete location history when using Google Maps - 2

Clear location history for certain time periods. Photo: MINH HOANG

3. Manually and automatically delete the entire location history

If you want to delete the previously stored data, go to the Personal content – Delete all location history – I understand and want to delete (I understand and want to delete) – Delete.

Instead of having to manually delete data, you can set up Google to automatically delete location history after a certain period of time.

3 ways to delete location history when using Google Maps - 3

Delete location history manually or automatically. Photo: MINH HOANG

First, open the Google Maps application (maps), click on the avatar in the upper right corner and select Settings – Personal content – Automatically delete Location History (automatically delete location history), then select the corresponding timeline (more than 3 months, more than 18 months, or more than 36 months) and follow the instructions until complete.

Of course, deleting location history data will only affect Google Maps, not other map apps like Apple Maps, Waze and other location services like Google Location Services or Find my phone ( find my phone).

If you are using an iPhone or iPad, users just need to do the same as above to delete location history on Google Maps. In the case of using Google Maps on a computer, you can delete all Google searches, including browsing history, YouTube search keywords …

Google is not the only company that stores such information. Apple also uses a similar feature called Significant Locations to provide users with suggestions and alerts in the Apple Maps, Calendar, and Photos apps (photo).

Source: https: //kynguyenso.plo.vn/ky-nguyen-so/cong-nghe/3-cach-xoa-lich-su-vi-tri-khi-su-dung-google-ma …

How to access the internet, surf Facebook on the plane at an altitude of 10,000m

Passengers can use internet service on some flights of Vietnam Airlines even at altitudes above 10,000m – where …

.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *