Breaking News

Eight new departments under curfew at 6 p.m.

The government had warned, Thursday, January 7, that 10 new departments could be added to the fifteen who already live the hour of the advanced curfew from 6 p.m. Finally, eight of them should be affected by this measure, effective from Sunday January 10 at 6 p.m.

Two departments spared

Traveling to Tarbes (Hautes-Pyrénées) to visit a vaccination center, Prime Minister Jean Castex confirmed, Saturday, January 9, the number of eight departments, without specifying giving the names.

According to the announcements of the various prefectures, and other sources, these are Allier, Alpes-de-Haute-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhône, Cher, Cote d’Or, Bas -Rhin and Haut-Rhin as well as Vaucluse. Haute-Savoie and Yonne, which were likely to switch, however, remain subject to a curfew from 8 p.m. to 6 a.m., like the rest of the territory.

Jean Castex justified these “Difficult but necessary measures” while ” the epidemic is not weakening or, on the contrary, is strengthening differently in certain areas of the territory. This is the reason why, for a few days now, we have wanted an anticipated effect of the start time of the curfew. “

Marseille is offended

The measure is not unanimous, far from it. And the protest is particularly strong in Marseille, bringing together in the same spirit elected officials from the left and the right, from the town hall to the regional council. “This will create congestion in stores and transport out of offices, with a great risk of contamination. Not to mention the shortfall for traders who are in arrears. Let’s test ourselves, vaccinate ourselves but no longer confine! “, thundered Martine Vassal, LR president of the departmental council.

“We apply in Marseille, the same criteria that we apply elsewhere”, retorted the Prime Minister. The criterion for a reinforcement of the curfew was defined by the presence of an incidence rate higher than 200 new cases per 100,000 inhabitants per week, as well as the evolution of the situation among the oldest people. .

The eight departments which fall into the reinforced curfew join the fifteen others where the measure was already in force since January 2: the Vosges, Marne, Haute-Marne, Meurthe-et-Moselle, Moselle, Nièvre , the Saône-et-Loire, the Meuse, the Ardennes, the Haute-Saone, the Territoire de Belfort, the Doubs, the Jura, the Hautes-Alpes and the Alpes-Maritimes.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *